More Trite and Hackneyed Ideas from ChatGPT

I spent three years studying poetry under Pulitzer prize laureate Maxine Kumin & the beloved Gerald Stern and other award winning authors. I asked ChatGPT to write a poem that was not in the style of a nursery rhyme. Guess what? It couldn’t.

Sherry Horowitz
3 min readJan 4, 2023
Created in Midjourney by Sherry Horowitz

Here’s how it went when I asked ChatGPT to write a poem:

(For comparison see my poem on this topic here. https://medium.com/@sherryhorowitz/my-poem-vs-chatgpt-poem-c69fe6bff85b. I don’t usually post poems, but in this instance, I think it makes a point.)

Please write a poem about the effects of AI on the human race in the style of Stanley Plumly.

AI, a force both wild and tame

A blessing and a curse, it’s hard to say

On one hand, it makes our lives easier

On the other, it threatens to make us lazier

With machines to do the work, we no longer toil

But as we sit and watch, our skills begin to spoil

--

--